Te Whau Pathway Environment Trust

Te Whau Pathway Environment Trust, formerly the Whau Coastal Walkway Environmental Trust, formed in 2015 and has monthly meetings in West Auckland. This website is owned and managed by the Trust.

Our vision is to see a shared pathway for walking and cycling linking the Manukau and Waitemata Harbours along the Whau River Estuary. The Trust’s Patrons are Iris Donoghue and Ross Clow.

Current Trust Members

Gilbert Brakey, , Catherine Powell, Graeme Campbell, Dai Bindoff, Tony Miguel, Sharon Davies, Peter Chan (Greg Presland, John Dragicevich, Joseph Erceg absent)

Dai Bindoff

Dai is a Public Relations practitioner with nearly 50 years of experience. Most recently, he was an advisor to Auckland Transport and previously, Manager Public Affairs for Waitakere City Council. Between 1986 and late 1990, he was Head of PR for the 1990 Commonwealth Games Company and for the Games themselves. He is committed to environmental recovery and besides serving on Te Whau Pathway Trust since 2017, is an advisor to Arctic Green Housing in Yellowknife, Canada, designers, and manufacturers of sustainable housing for the Canadian North. He is also a long-term Trustee, and former chairman, of the Don Oliver Youth Sport Foundation.

Gilbert Brakey

Gilbert is a founding Trustee of The Whau River Catchment Trust Auckland. His skills are varied and relate to landscape architecture, integrating ecology, and natural resource management. His area of specialty is with plants in the landscape. His broad background and experience of working with New Zealand and Australian flora spans over 40 years.

Graeme Campbell

Graeme and his family have lived in West Auckland for 50 years. He has worked for local, regional, and central government, and iwi. Over many years, he has led major urban redevelopment projects at New Lynn, Westgate and Hobsonville including the legislation protecting the Waitakere Ranges Heritage Area. He has worked extensively in Treaty of Waitangi Settlement negotiations representing the interests of the Crown and iwi. Graeme is now retired. He maintains interests in education outside the classroom, island and coastal ecological restoration and local history.

Peter Chan

Peter has been extensively involved in local community issues for more than 20 years. He co-founded both the Waitakere Ethnic Board and the Lantern Festival and is also a Justice of Peace. He is currently a member of the Henderson-Massey Local Board and is married to Audrey. They have 3 adult children and 3 grandchildren.

Sharon Davies

Sharon is a true westie. She is passionate about her community and people. As well as being the Secretary of the Whau Coastal Environmental Trust, she is involved in several other community organisations. They include Be A Tidy Kiwi, Glen Eden Railway Station Trust, Ranui Community Centre, Safer West Community Trust, Swanson Railway Station Trust and Waitākere Forest & Bird. She was awarded a Queens Service Medal for services to her community in June 2013 and became a Justice of the Peace in December 2019.

Tony Miguel

Tony is committed to ensuring the Te Whau Pathway is completed, and while contributing to achieving environmental, social, cultural, and economic benefits he recognises all good things take time. He fully understands the challenges needed to deliver complex infrastructure projects and has a track record of successful delivery based on meeting stakeholder requirements. He has championed developing non-asset solutions to meet infrastructure needs through initiatives including alternatives to car-based transport, water demand management, green and blue infrastructure, and public-community partnerships.

John Dragicevich and Joseph Erceg joined the Trust in 2023.

Previous Trust Members

We would like to acknowledge the contributions of our previous Trust members Tim Livingstone (2023), Catherine Powell (2022), Earl Barretto (2022), Richard Thomas (2020), David Kenkel (2019), Derek Battersby (2018) and Iris Donoghue (2017). Ngā mihi nui ki a koutou.

Te Whau Pathway Environment Trust logo

The Trusts logos are available to download from their Brand Guidelines web page. Please use the word ‘logo’ to access the page.